top of page

Sara Sampaio speaks out

Victoria Secret's angel speaks out against the way models are disrespected while working. Despite model agency agreements, when working on a fashion shoot, models can often be pressured into revealing their bodies beyond their stipulated boundaries. If a famous angel is treated in such an appalling way, we can only imagine what happens to models who are not as powerful.

While coming forward about a negative working experience on Instagram, Sara Sampaio triggered a chain reaction from fellow well known models who have been sharing a wide range of testimonies which clearly reveal the need to change fashion industry. It doesn't need to be a ruthless business, as this coming together amongst models reveals. Fashion can and should have a heart. We're proud of you Sara! #bethechange

Sara Sampaio

Read below Sara Sampaio's Instagram post this week:

"Today, I feel compelled to share a recent experience I had with the French men's magazine, Lui. I want every model and every woman to know they have the right to make their own choices about their body and image. I had agreed to shoot the cover feature of Lui's autumn issue, under the condition that there was NO NUDITY.

My agency and I insisted on having a clear agreement in place to protect myself in order to control the choice I made around not being shot nude. Even with the "No Nudity" clause in my agreement with Lui, I was aggressively pressured to do nude shots on set, asking me why I didn't want to show my nipples or go fully nude.

Throughout the shoot day, I needed to constantly defend myself as best as I could. While reviewing the final images taken, I noticed that there were accidental exposures with parts of my body that I didn't want exposed. I spoke up and was assured that those images would not be used. The magazine lied and proceeded to publish a cover image of me with nudity, which was a clear violation of our agreement.

Like so many models, I've had negative experiences in the past where I felt pressured to pose nude. On many occasions where the shoot was to not have nudity, I would arrive on set and the photographer or stylist would pressure, cajole or demand that I pose nude because I had done in the past. I was bullied.

Sara Sampaio

Many times, I was showed nude images of myself as examples to coerce me into posing nude, and whenever I stood my ground and refused, I was criticised and judged as being difficult. I am comfortable with my body and with being nude in circumstances I consider a dorm of art ---- this process comes naturally, and is very thoughtful, creative and collaborative.

Throughout my career, I've been very selective with when and how I do shoots with nudity. Just because I've consented to posing nude in the past, it does not give anyone the permission to assume I would do it again under any circumstance. I have the right to show my body how, when, where and for whatever purpose I choose. It's my choice.

And when I make that choice, I expect to be treated with respect and professionalism. Since the issue was released, I've been working with my agency and attorney to pursue legal action against Lui. What they did to me is unacceptable. I feel violated, mistreated and disrespected as a professional and as a woman. I want to do what I can to prevent this from happening to me again, and to others.

Sadly, this is not an isolated incident, and I am not alone. As models continue to share their harrowing experiences, the bullying and abuse that is systemic within the fashion industry, will come to light. As models and as women, we need to stand together and demand the respect we deserve. We have the right to make our own individual choices about our bodies, our image, and our lives."

bottom of page